I like Reform Kafe, Chiang Mai

I can’t begin to describe how glad I was to have stumbled upon Reform Kafe, tucked away down one of the twisty turny alleys in Chiang Mai. I’d given up trying to find my way to one of the night flower shows, having got myself into a hangry, lost, and irritable state. Then there it was, glowing like a heavenly beacon of veggie goodness.

Serving delicious healthy Asian and European vegetarian and vegan food, Reform Kafe is just so good, even the most ardent of meat-eaters are bound to fall in love with it. I’d tumbled off the vegan bandwagon, so this seemed like the perfect place to redeem myself.

Possibly the most beautiful restaurant I’ve ever set foot into (I’m a sucker for an indoor garden and lanterns), Reform Kafe felt magical; the perfect setting for a romantic date (alas, I was on my own, but a girl can dream) and was like sitting amongst an enchanted rainforest, just with air conditioning and fewer mozzies.

Pretty much everything on their extensive menu sounded delicious, but I opted for a pineapple, green apple and papaya smoothie, and fried rice green curry with mushrooms and tofu.

It was A-MAZING. Without a doubt the best food I had in Asia (yep, even better than the world’s best pad Thai in Phi Phi), and I have been lusting after it ever since. The green curry came in a dome shape, with the curry mixed into the sticky rice, and oh my, was it good. The tofu was perfectly firm (why does it never turn out like that when I do it myself?), the flavours were incredible – not too spicy but with a decent kick –  and, considering the price, the portion size was big enough to satisfy a greedy pig like me. Even thinking about it now has got me drooling.

It’s not the cheapest place in Chiang Mai by any means, but the stunning surroundings, friendly, polite staff, and the relaxed and enchanting ambiance are totally worth paying that little bit extra. I loved it so much, I had to go back a second time, where I treated myself insanely good spring rolls.

If you’re a veggie in Chiang Mai, this is a must-visit. If you’re a meat-eater who scrunches your nose up at the thought of vegetarian and vegan cuisine, Reform Kafe might change your mind.

The only downside is knowing I’m never going to experience a green curry like that ever again. Is it better to have loved and lost, than to have never loved at all?

2017-04-29 04.20.43 2.jpg 1.jpg 2017-04-29 04.25.17 1.jpg2.jpg 2017-04-29 06.14.16 2.jpg2017-04-29 04a.jpg2017-04-29 04.22.14 1.jpg 2017-04-29 04.31.11 1.jpg

Save

One thought on “I like Reform Kafe, Chiang Mai

Leave a Reply

